Day 8

24 Oct

I successfully made it through my first week on Whole30!

The key to my success definitely depends on food prep though, so I again prepped my breakfast for the entire week and some other basics last night for the rest of this week.

Mexican Egg Muffins:

Image

Similar to the frittata I made last week, I just switched the ingredients (and the size) of these up.

Image

I used 2 links of hot chorizo, which I removed from the casing and sauteed until crumbly and cooked through.  I let that cool in a mixing bowl and used the same pan to saute 2 cups of kale until tender and let that cool as well.  To the bowl of chorizo and kale I added 1 diced red pepper, 1/2 cup of scallions, and a few diced green chiles as well.  I mixed these ingredients well to combine, and once everything is cool, I added 8 eggs to the bowl and scrambled together.  It is important that you let the chorizo and kale cool before adding the eggs, otherwise when you add the eggs, they may start to cook upon contact. Grease a muffin tin well with ghee or coconut oil, and fill with 1/3 cup of mixture. Place in the oven at 350° until set throughout, typically 25-30 minutes.  If you are lucky, they will come out of the tin no problem, but if you aren’t lucky (like me), you will have to pry them out and have a mess on your hands.  Needless to say, silicone muffin liners will definitely be on my Christmas list! Once they were cooled, I divided into pairs and placed them in Ziploc bags for an easy grab and go breakfast (they’re even good cold!)

Another thing I prepped since I had the sugar-in-my-chicken-stock crisis last week was some homemade stock.  Again, way easier than it sounds.  I think people get scared off by the sound of making your own stocks at home, but this is so easy, and so much better than boxed or canned stock!

Image

I relied on Martha for the basis of this recipe, but made a few modifications to my taste.  I placed a whole 3 lb chicken into a stockpot, and filled it with water until it was about an inch over the chicken and put it on medium high heat to bring it to a boil.  While that was on the stove, I cut 3 celery stalks, 3 carrots, and 2 onions in 1-2 inch pieces, and then added them to the boiling pot with 3 bay leaves, 4 smashed cloves of garlic, and 1 Tbsp of whole peppercorns. All you do then is wait.  I turned the heat down and let it simmer for 2 hours, then pulled the chicken out and set it on a sheet pan (to pull later) and stained it through a colander and into a smaller stock pot to cool,  I let chill in the fridge for a few hours and then skimmed all of the solidified fats off the top and then it’s ready to use!

Image

Image

I pulled the chicken and made some chicken salad with the remainder of the homemade mayo from my previous post and also added some mandarin oranges and pecans. Delicious and great for a quick lunch!

It is a good thing I did some food prep yesterday too, because while stretching at work today during a yawn, I pinched a serious nerve around my left shoulder blade that rendered me useless for nearly the rest of the day (this kind of stuff only happens to me, I swear).  So now what for dinner? Enter the hubby.  He grilled up some delicious grassfed steaks and I sliced and sauteed some zucchini and yellow squash, but the best part of dinner was definitely the prosciutto wrapped asparagus!.

Image

We bundled 3-4 pieces of asparagus together, added a few slices of white onion, and wrapped it all in a piece of prosciutto and placed them in the oven at 375° for about 12 minutes, or until the asparagus was tender and the prosciutto was crispy.  And they were heavenly.  Hubby did good, and we will definitely be making these again (probably too often…)

Image

I also had some Kombucha today, and did a little research on how to make my own (it’s so expensive!) so that could be something fun to look for in future posts…

4 Responses to “Day 8”

  1. tmvikholt October 24, 2012 at 4:07 am #

    Soo, I should have been asleep a long time ago. But now these pictures have made me hungry. Just so you know 😛

  2. activeiris October 24, 2012 at 7:49 am #

    Congrats on the completion of your first week of Whole30! I am planning on starting November 1st!

Leave a Reply

