Day 2-7 (no one said I was timely)

24 Oct

So one thing that I should point out is that I rarely have free time, as evidenced by my complete lack of posts for an entire week.  So as not to bore you with an entire week’s worth of meals, I will point out some highlights (which, if you followed me on Instagram, and you should, you would’ve already seen most of these things).

Breakfasts were pretty easy for the week, as that frittata from my Day 1 post lasted the whole week with the addition of some avocado or some carnitas on the side, so not much to discuss there. Luckily I don’t tire of food easily; however, if you do, you may want to make different breakfast options for the week and alternate between them or you’ll get really bored which may open you up to cheating.  It is fairly common while doing Paleo and Whole30 to eat your leftover dinners for breakfast too.  It’s about getting out of the mindset that breakfast has to be eggs or waffles, etc., which is why you will also see Breakfast referred to as Meal 1 in some locations.

For one of my lunches, I made some tuna salad with homemade mayo and scooped it into an avocado. super easy and fast, and very satisfying.

Image

Mayo is actually much easier to make than it sounds, even though most people are scared to take it on.  Take a blender or food processor and crack in an egg, 1 tsp of lemon juice, 1 tsp of dry mustard, and 2 Tbsp of oil of your choice.  Now I must say here I have only ever used EVOO for this (OK, that’s a lie, I used walnut oil once, but it was so bad I’d prefer not to admit that I did…) but I have heard that macadamia nut oil and avocado oil make more neutral flavored mayos – which would be great if I had enough money to spend on fancy oils just to make them into mayonnaise, but I don’t, so EVOO it is.  Anyway, once you add all those ingredients in the blender, put the lid on (critical) and pulse until the mixture is emulsified (combined).  Now you can add the rest of the oil – most recipes call for a cup of oil, but I don’t actually measure, I just drizzle it in until it’s the right thickness.  Keyword being drizzle – if you add too fast, the mayo will break and you’ll have a mess.  So slowly add the oil in while continuously blending and after a few minutes, it will thicken and become mayo-like.  Taste and season as necessary, I typically add garlic and make a garlic mayo, but you could add basil for a pesto mayo, sundried tomatoes, black pepper – whatever you want! It keeps in the fridge for a few weeks, so don’t make a huge batch because it doesn’t last for 23 years like the stuff you buy in the stores does!

Back to the tuna salad – I took 2 cans of tuna (some people on Whole30 are anti-can, but deal with it, ok, I didn’t have any time) and added some of the mayo I had just made (however creamy you like your tuna salad), and some cayenne pepper and some more garlic powder and mixed it all together before scooping it in my pitted avocado

Image

Image

Besides this, I mostly ate my leftover dinners for lunch, and also snacked from time to time on Lara Bars and baby food.  Yes, I said baby food. It’s good, and easy to grab on the go.  Don’t knock it until you’ve tried it.

Image

For dinners, I tried to keep them fairly simple, and here were some of the best:

London Broil in the Crockpot with mashed cauliflower and carrots and asparagus

Image

I marinated the 3 lb grassfed London Broil overnight in a mix of olive oil, balsamic vinegar, minced garlic, dry mustard, and a little salt (I just kinda dumped stuff in a bag until the steak was covered- nothing precise about it).  I seared it in my grill pan on each side and layered it on top of a sliced onion inside my Crockpot with 1/2 cup of water, 2 cloves of minced garlic and 2 Tbsp of coconut aminos.  I set it on low and let it go for 8 hours. Here’s the before and after:

Image

Image

I paired that with smashed cauliflower and carrots (simply boil until tender, drain, and I used an emersion blender to blend with salt, pepper, and some ghee) and some roasted asparagus (toss in olive oil, put it 400° oven for 10 min, season as desired) and it was amazing, and there were plenty of leftovers!

Another great dinner, Pork Tenderloin with roasted Acorn and Red Kuri Squashes:

Image

I seasoned the pork tenderloin heavily with a grill seasoning blend and dehydrated garlic (yes, it was pretty potent), and put it in the oven for about 30 minutes at 375° (normally I would’ve gone with 350°, but I also had the squash in there that I was trying to roast). My hubby sweat his way through peeling and cubing the squash and we added in an onion cut into eighths, tossed in olive oil, and sprinkled with cinnamon, nutmeg, salt and pepper, and threw in the oven with the pork.  After the pork was done, I turned the oven up to 400° and finished the squash in there for another 10 minutes (40 minutes total)

Image

Image

Alright, that was a brief summary of my week in food, I will try to stay on top of this from now on, sorry if I disappointed anyone!

Leave a Reply

