Day 1

17 Oct

Today was a much better day.  And by that I mean that I finished it without failing!

Last night I prepped my breakfast for the week (again) by making a frittata that was delicious, and again, super easy!Image

To make this, saute 2 cups of spinach in 1/2 Tbsp of EVOO and once tender, let cool.  While the spinach cools, dice 1/2 white onion, 1 red pepper, and 1 head of broccoli, and add those veggies to 12 raw scrambled eggs in a large mixing bowl.  Season the raw egg and veggie mixture with garlic powder, salt, and pepper to taste (or any other seasonings you would like).  At this point I added the cooled spinach and was going to add some bacon, but upon further investigation of the label, i saw that I had purchased bacon with sugar added, so I left it out to save myself from starting my Whole30 over (again).  Instead, I added a leftover chicken breast from last night that I diced up, but you could use any other protein you’d like – just make sure that they are Whole30 compliant – no carrageenan and no sugar added.

Preheat your oven to 350° and heat 1 Tbsp of coconut oil in a large saute pan over medium heat.  Once hot, pour in egg mixture and DON’T TOUCH IT! Once the eggs are set around the edges, transfer the pan to the oven to finish cooking (time may vary, but it took about 25 minutes for me)

Once completely set, I removed from oven and I flipped the frittata out on a cutting board to cool, and once cooled, I cut into 6 wedges for an easy grab-and-go breakfast for the rest of the week!

Image

Now my frittata wedge was actually more of a lunch, as I woke up a little late today (you’ll notice that will be a trend – I am NOT a morning person!), so I scarfed it down and went off to work.  I snacked on a Lara Bar and had a cup of black coffee, but the whole time I was fantasizing about the pork I had left behind in my crockpot at home…

I have several obsessions/addictions when it comes to food, but my top 2 are definitely Chipotle and Starbucks.  In an attempt to save money (and prevent the local Chipotle employees from knowing me by name), I decided to make my own carnitas at home.  I confided in one of my friends who is a former Chipotle manager for the recipe; however, was extremely disappointed to hear that they get it pre-made and simply warm it up.  So, slightly discouraged,  I went to my next best resource – Google.  I found a recipe that claimed to be “Exactly like Chipotle!” Only problem: I didn’t have all the ingredients, nor the time (or money) to go buy them.  So I did what I do best in the kitchen – made shit up.  98% of the time it works out in my favor, but the other 2% are major flops (don’t ever make Paleo waffles – it just doesn’t work).

And let’s be real, it doesn’t get much better than crockpot cooking.  It gives me, as a wife, the opportunity to momentarily know what it feels like to be a husband. You know, come home from a long day of work to dinner, ready to eat – it really is a fantastic feeling!  Plus, if you live in an apartment like I do,  you get the added bonus of making all your neighbors jealous of your dinner by making the hallway smell like deliciousness all day long.

Image

This was as easy as heating some olive oil in a pan and searing a 3 lb pork roast on all sides (about 2 min per side) then transferring to the crockpot.  Once in the crock, I added about 1/2 cup of water (the stock I had planned on using had evaporated cane juice in it.  Damn) and then seasoned heavily with the following: garlic powder, ground coriander, cayenne pepper, paprika, oregano, salt, pepper, and then dropped in 2 Tbsp of juniper berries for good measure.  Set it on low for 8 hours and when you are ready to eat, shred it up, step back, and bask in its glory:

Image

We made carnitas salads with it, but the possibilities are endless.  I called the hubby on my way home from work and he sauteed a sliced red pepper and 1/2 a sliced white onion in ghee and then chopped some romaine and prepped our salads so that when I walked in the door all I had to do was eat.  I added 1/2 and avocado to mine and had planned on dressing it with some salsa, but (again) was discouraged by cane juice in the salsa I had purchased.  So, I added some of the carnitas juice and drizzled it with avocado oil to add some moisture. The end product was no Chipotle, but delicious nonetheless and I will definitely be making it again.

Image

At the end of the day, I feel satisfied with my food and my efforts, but find myself continuously disappointed in the ingredients I find in my food that shouldn’t be there to begin with.  Sugar in my salsa, bacon, and chicken stock? Seaweed in my turkey? Solution: Just Eat Real Food.

One Response to “Day 1”

  1. Megan October 22, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    That pork looks amazing!! I have been meaning to do a roast / a big hunk of meat. I am going to need to check out the grocery store specials on some pork!

Leave a Reply

